Incumbent officials unopposed for re-election in Newfield


Tompkins Weekly Staff

Barring a last-minute write-in campaign, there will be few surprises on Election Day in Newfield.

Incumbent officials are all running unopposed in their re-election bids, and a couple are even cross-nominated by the major political parties.

Jeffrey Hart is seeking to remain as town supervisor, and will be listed on the Republican and Independence ballot lines. Town board members Joanne James and Christine Laughlin are running to retain their seats; James is listed on the Democrat and Better Newfield ballot lines, Laughlin is on the Republican and Independence lines.

Town Clerk Karen Miller-Kenerson and Highway Superintendent Kevin Berggren also are running for re-election and have received wide support – they will both appear on the Republican and Independence lines, and both were selected for the Democrat line during the town Democratic committee’s caucus.

The last day to register in person or by mail for the 2017 general election is October 13; the form must be postmarked by October 13 and received by October 18. October 13 is also the last day for the Tompkins County Board of Elections to receive/accept change of enrollment forms. The last day to postmark an absentee application for the general election is October 31, and the last day to postmark an absentee ballot for the general election is November 6.

Voting will take place from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. Tuesday, November 7, at the Newfield Fire Station, located at 77 Main St. in Newfield.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment